Contact Martin

Telephone: +61 8  8271 6448
Fax: +61 8  8373 3158

Minister welcomes new DefenceSA Advisory Board members

Thursday, 08 September 2016

Two new appointments to the South Australian Government’s Defence Advisory Board represent a renewed emphasis for South Australia’s future defence industries strategy, as we move towards a high-tech advanced manufacturing future.

Minister for Defence Industries Martin Hamilton-Smith announced the appointment of Board Professor Tanya Monro and Professor Pascale Quester at last night’s Land Forces 2016 International Defence and Industry Dinner.

The 11-member Board has been a key part of our State’s strategy and in the past decade has been chaired by the now Governor General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove and more recently Air Chief Marshall Sir Angus Houston.


Professor Monro is Deputy Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation at the University of South Australia. The inaugural Director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing Tanya was also the inaugural Director for the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics at the University of Adelaide.

She is a member of the Prime Minister’s Commonwealth Science Council, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, the AAS National Committee for Physics and the South Australian Economic Development Board.

Professor Pascale Quester, has a French connection and is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President at the University of Adelaide. She joined the School of Commerce at the university in 1991 and established the marketing discipline as one stream of the commerce degree.

Professor Quester has been actively involved in developing links with overseas institutions in Malaysia and France and has held several appointments as visiting professor in overseas institutions including La Sorbonne, ESSEC and the University of La Reunion. She is the director of the Franco-Australian Centre for International Research in Marketing.

Quotes attributable to Defence Industries Minister Martin Hamilton-Smith

These two new appointments represent part of the renewed emphasis for South Australia’s future defence industries strategy as we move towards a high-tech advanced manufacturing future.

Can I also express my thanks for the enormous contributions made by departing Board members Paul Johnson and Beth Laughton. Their advice has been invaluable and the South Australian Government has been well served by their professional commitment.